PDA

View Full Version : Oil in the Water?

Squeaks
25-01-10, 11:01 AM
No Not mine. Phew. but my aunties Mk1 ZS180

i was speaking to my uncle last night & as he don't have a computer I'm asking on his behalf.

he was checking all the levels on the Z Saturday & noticed that the water tank ( expansion tank? ) had oil in it, it was floating on top of the antifreeze & didn't go right down to the bottom of the bottle.he took it out & checked the dipstick & it had no mayo on it. we seem to think its leaking it in from the head gasket, how likely is this to blow? i know with the MGF when it went it put water in the oil. but this is the other way round, is it just more of a annoyance or worse?

any help would be appreciated & ill pass the info onto him, my auntie is so worried as she cant afford it to be major. :(

Thanks.

arwilson80
25-01-10, 11:05 AM
To me it sounds like HGF but i'm no expert. Although on the KV6 it's unusual... Lil sis' 214 put the oil into the water rather than the other way around which is more common.

stamford
25-01-10, 12:10 PM
A rare case if it is. What's the age of the car and mileage? From what I can remember the very early ones had trouble, but these were probably pre-production versions that were registered, but were not updated in some way.

Maybe there is a defect that has caused this, best get a garage to carry out the 'sniff' test to be sure.

Squeaks
25-01-10, 12:31 PM
Its a 2003 with 66k on the clock, oil sits nicely ontop off the antifreeze, got no over heating & runs perfectly still.

ZS
25-01-10, 01:11 PM
Its a 2003 with 66k on the clock, oil sits nicely ontop off the antifreeze, got no over heating & runs perfectly still.

Mayo in the Oil (710) cap? :tease:

petet16
25-01-10, 01:18 PM
Unusual for a v6, but it does sound as though the seal between an oilway and coolant passage has broken down.