PDA

View Full Version : So What Do We Do For A Job?

stamford
12-07-07, 09:41 PM
Always interests me what sort of cross section of people we have on these forums and what we do for a living...............there's always I.T. gods somewhere!

Me................well............I'm of the old school, however I had to succumb to using a PC everyday.

I'm a time-served Toolmaker by trade, started in the Aerospace industry when it was space and defence back in '81.

Worked for a race team building and developing race bikes for all classes up to 750 Superbikes and Isle of Man TT races. Also did R&D work on BTCC back in the early 90's.

I'm also a qualified engineer, a Master of Science they say! Not bad for a metal maggot!

Progressed as a development engineer working on process automation equipment and robotics. Then became a design engineer designing airbag assembly cells and nuclear de-commissioning robots.

Currently the Engineering Project Manager for a company based in Aldershot, here (http://www.corewire.com/) where I'm responsible for the design and project management of their automated welding machines, we are talking biggies that can weld forge dies at around 10tons and large steel rolls up to 4 metres in diameter!

StevieA ZS120
12-07-07, 09:48 PM
im a ramp operations supervisor for aviance at edinburgh airport
basically im in charge of the planes turnaround from the amount of bags going on to dangerous chemicals, live animals, fire arms ,ammo,
taking bags off of the plane and making sure they go to the reclaim belts in plenty time, then there is the security side of it and the safety side of it, right down to pushing the aircraft and positioning it in the taxi way

stamford
12-07-07, 09:51 PM
Impressive Stevie, alot of responsibility there, you must enjoy that.

sduk
12-07-07, 09:57 PM
i work for the government :D

stamford
12-07-07, 10:06 PM

Okay...............are we MIB then?

cjsale
12-07-07, 10:06 PM

007 style....:D