PDA

View Full Version : A bit of advice...

POMPSKI
18-05-12, 09:32 PM
Ok so.... Found a lovely Mk2 180, low mileage but the belts have not been done. Which is not a problem if the car is the right price, and I think it is very reasonable.

What Im wondering is, are there any experienced MG/Rover mechanics on sites like this that can do the belts/water pump as either a mobile mechanic or a garage around the East Midlands/Anglia area. Im hoping mobile mechanics but I feel it is a massive job for one day, especially the V6. I would rather have this kind of job done by an enthusiast rather than someone who really does not care...

Also, would I be better off buying the parts individually so that I am purely paying labor costs for whoever fits them? I would do it myself (Im an aircraft mechanic) but I neither have the space/time nor tools..... A quick glance at ebay see's a company close to me quoting £800 which I fear is the norm for the V6.

Bit of a mouthful but any thoughts are much appreciated.

Dave

peterzs
18-05-12, 09:46 PM
Dont know how far this guy will travel, or he might recommend someone, might be worth a phone call.

http://www.mgroversolutions.com/

Or:- Rovermgparts.

http://www.themgzs.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=11907

POMPSKI
18-05-12, 09:58 PM
£400.... Good start that, not sure on the location, but would be worth travelling. Thanks for the good info.

KirkJames
19-05-12, 12:08 AM
Some really good prices there Peter, well worth a look, I am getting mine done fairly soon. Was going to go down to Southend to have mine done. £550 all in with the water pump and thermostat.

andy-81
19-05-12, 03:33 AM
jib over onto .org and give a girl called kayliegh a shout, she and her other half are both mobile mechanics and travel natin wide some of the guys on there swear by her

stamford
19-05-12, 08:07 AM
I've used Russell and he'll travel. There is also lates based in Coventry.

Fred68
19-05-12, 08:23 AM