PDA

View Full Version : Car Written off - Gutted beyond Belief

SecretSquig
21-08-08, 06:33 PM
I have a 2005 ZS TD with every optional extra you can shack a stick at, not to mention all the 'extras' I've put in. Absolutly Imaculate, or at least is was until some knob in his Porsche decided to pull out without looking and hit me head on at 30mph. This impact then shoved me accross the road, over the pavement, and through someone's garden wall. The know has admitted full liability. I'm not a car expert by any means but .......

New bonet, wings, bumper, grill, both front alloys (Jet Black 15"s) have broken, lights and the doors are slightly bent where the wings have been pushed back. I've been to see her at the garage (I'll post pics tomorrow), and she's parked next to the skip. The rear bumper is hanging off, I've dinks in the rear wing and one of the rear door handles has come off. This was all caused when they had to drag it out of the garden, over the wall rubble. The mechanic said its repaiable, but it would cost +£6500 to do, as the chasis is slightly bent, and all the front suspension is broken. Its a write off. To add insult to injury, in the repair bay of the garage on the ramps, was the Porsche, which should be back on the road next week!

Now, here's where I'm confused. Its been declared a write off, not because it can't be fixed, but because of how much it will cost to fix. So Insurerers send me a cheque which won't cover me buying another one. But I'm not at fault, I'm the innocent party, I don't give a monkeys how much it costs to fix, I want it back, fix it. But this isn't how it works.

So at the end of the day, me being the innocent, is left out of pocket, with no car, and not enought £££ to replace it with another ZS TD. How is that fair?

rbull51
21-08-08, 06:43 PM
Gutted. These insurance companies are just out to get as much from you as possible and pay out as little as possible.

SharronB
21-08-08, 06:52 PM